Articles

Reviews

Fall 2015 Solid State Drive Technology Update
By Chris Lonardo   November 02, 2015
Since our last SSD update article, the last 7 months have seen no shortage of exciting announcements, and the enthusiast market has rapidly evolved in both positive and confusing ways. Let’s get up to speed on U.2, NVMe, 3D XPoint, M&A, and the rest of the buzzword soup that make up this market.
Making Old USB Better with New 3.1 and ASUS
By Chris Lonardo   September 08, 2015
Recent changes to the USB spec claim to provide a brighter future for those dependent on USB storage. We have all heard about just how great USB has become, or should have become. We test some of these advances to see if the new USB can deliver the goods when it comes to moving data.
SanDisk Ultra II SATA III SSD Review
By Chris Lonardo   August 18, 2015
Most of you know that the easiest way to get a performance boost from your old mechanical hard drive is to get rid of it and replace it with a shiny new SSD. SanDisk's Ultra II offers a lot of capacity for the money and comes with a 3 year warranty. Is that enough to compete in a market where prices are falling across every category?
OCZ Trion 100 Series Entry Level SSD Review
By Chris Lonardo   July 09, 2015
OCZ's new Trion 100 SSD is its first with TLC NAND and a Toshiba-designed controller. OCZ is positioning this new Trion series SSD as an entry level product for first time SSD buyers migrating from a spinning data drive. Does this budget SSD have what it takes to finally get average users off of magnetic storage?
Hail SATA: Performance SATA Solid State Drive Roundup
By Chris Lonardo   July 07, 2015
Despite the performance benefits, PCIe SSDs remain an expensive niche market. That means that most of us are not going to be loading up a high end system with PCIe SSDs. Most of us mere mortals will be using SATA SSDs. We tested some of the best SATA drives with enthusiast-friendly price tags.
House of Cards: PCIe SSD Performance Roundup
By Chris Lonardo   June 23, 2015
The new NVMe SSDs are now the de facto standard performance kings when it comes to accessing data on a desktop PC. However, there are more than a few other alternatives when it comes to PCIe attached SSD storage solutions. We take a look at how the other current PCIe SSDs on the market fare against NVMe and the best performing SATA.
Intel SSD 750 Review: NVMe for the Desktop
By Chris Lonardo   May 08, 2015
Intel is set to be the catalyst for a long-awaited leap forward in storage technology with the new SSD 750 bringing NVMe storage to client PCs for the first time, and turning the high end SSD space upside-down. We are expecting blinding IOPs and we dig in to find out what it can mean to the hardware enthusiast.
Moving to Real World Benchmarks in SSD Reviews
By Chris Lonardo   April 13, 2015
Many of our readers embrace our "real world" approach with hardware reviews. We have not published an SSD review for almost 2 years while we have been looking to revamp our SSD evaluation program. Today we wanted to give you some insight as to how we learned to stop worrying and love the real world SSD benchmark.
Where the SSD Market is Headed in 2015
By Chris Lonardo   March 24, 2015
Chris Lonardo is HardOCP's new Storage Engineer and Editor. HardOCP has been out of the SSD reviewing game for a couple of years looking for the right person to take the reins and Chris is our man. Today in his inaugural editorial, he shares with us what his thoughts are about in the SSD arena.
Toshiba THNSNH 256GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   July 03, 2013
Toshiba's massive foundry capabilities allow it to develop some of the leading SSDs for the OEM market. These SSDs come pre-installed in the latest computers with the option for an SSD, and today we look at the Toshiba THNSNH in comparison to current top-flight enthusiast-class SSDs.
OCZ Vertex 450 256GB 20nm MLC SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   June 27, 2013
OCZ refreshes the venerable Vertex 450 line of SSDs with its Indilinx Barefoot 3 controller and 20nm Micron MLC NAND. The new Barefoot 3 BF3-M10 controller is the same controller featured on the flagship OCZ Vector, yet with a slower clock speed. Will this slower controller allow OCZ to gain a foothold in the value market?
Corsair Neutron GTX 19nm 240GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   June 18, 2013
Corsair moves to a smaller 19nm Toshiba Toggle MLC NAND with its LAMD-controlled Neutron GTX Series of SSDs. This shrink comes amongst stiff competition from other manufacturers, and a new SSD that is very similar to the Neutron GTX. Today we see how the new GTX stacks up against its increased competition.
SanDisk 240 GB Extreme II SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   June 05, 2013
SanDisk releases its Extreme II series SSD, which features the Marvell 9187 controller in concert with 19nm eX2 ABL MLC NAND. The competition is heating up as another manufacturer with massive foundry capabilities releases a new SSD. Will the Extreme II "blaze through your day" and "keep you ahead of deadlines?"
Crucial M500 480GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   May 28, 2013
Crucial's M500 offers the lowest price per gigabyte for an MLC SSD with enterprise-class features not seen on typical consumer SSD data drives. With new 128Gbit MLC NAND paired with the Marvell 9187 controller the M500 should deliver great performance at a historically low price point. Is the Crucial M500's performance up to par?
Seagate 600 and 600 Pro SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   May 07, 2013
Seagate refreshes its line of consumer and enterprise SSDs with a new family of third-generation SSD products. We take a look at the consumer mainstream Seagate 600 and the enthusiast model, the Seagate 600 Pro. Will its LAMD Amber LM87800 controller, custom firmware, and Toshiba Type C 19nm MLC NAND make it a standout?
Corsair Neutron Series 256GB SSD Refresh Review
By Hugh Briggs   May 01, 2013
Corsair keeps pace with continuing innovation in the NAND market by switching from 25nm IMFT NAND to the rarely seen 22nm SK Hynix NAND. This NAND provides a lower price point and extra capacity. Today we take a look to see if the Neutron Series performance remains and how this new SSD build stacks up to the competition.
ADATA XPG SX900 128GB SSD Review Redux
By Hugh Briggs   April 30, 2013
Our original review of the ADATA XPG SX900 ended on a sour note. Unreleased critical firmware revisions and unexpected power consumption figures led us to question ADATA's customer support. Today we take another look with a fresh sample and a new firmware revision that ADATA has made available to its customers.
Seagate Hybrid Laptop Thin SSHD 500GB Review
By Hugh Briggs   April 10, 2013
Seagate has introduced the next generation of Solid State Hybrid Drives, commonly referred to as "SSHD." These drives use a small amount of MLC NAND to accelerate the performance of a 5400 RPM spinning disk. Today we test the mobile version against other available SSD caching solutions.
OCZ Vertex 3.20 20nm 240GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   April 03, 2013
OCZ releases the Vertex 3.20 240GB SSD as part of the continued restructuring of its product lines. With 20nm NAND and a LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller the Vertex 3.20 SSD is geared for budget conscious buyers, and today we test it with the other top value-oriented SSDs.
SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   April 02, 2013
The SanDisk Ultra Plus features SanDisk's proprietary eX2 ABL MLC NAND with nCache technology. This technique creates a SLC layer to help boost write performance and enhance endurance. The SSD also features a four channel Marvel 88SS9175 controller and 128MB of DRAM cache.
SuperSSpeed S301 Hyper Gold 128GB SLC SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   March 18, 2013
The SuperSSpeed S301 128GB SLC SSD brings SLC flash into the consumer market. The extreme endurance and excellent write performance makes for an interesting SSD powered by the SandForce SF-2281 controller. The Intel 25nm SLC NAND removes much of the Achilles heel of the SandForce processors, delivering consistent performance.
ADATA SX900 128GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   March 05, 2013
The ADATA SX900 128GB SSD came to us with a surprise under the hood, the new B02 version of the SandForce SF-2281 controller. This new stepping is designed to provide revolutionary improvements in power efficiency with no loss of speed. We test the SX900 and the SF-2281VB2-SPC controller to see how it stacks up against the competition.
Plextor MP5 Pro Xtreme 256GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   February 25, 2013
The Plextor M5 Pro Xtreme 256GB SSD is designed and optimized for users with demanding workloads. The Marvell Monet 9187 controller in tandem with the 19nm Toshiba Toggle Mode NAND provides outstanding specifications. We test the M5 Pro Xtreme with other flagship SSDs.
Samsung 840 120GB SSD Review
By Hugh Briggs   February 19, 2013
The 120GB Samsung 840 Series SSD features the powerful 8-channel MDX controller and TLC NAND. While this value SSD comes at a very good price, it also features much lower speeds than its larger capacity brethren. We put this value SSD through our suite of steady state tests to see if it can pass muster.