Today's Hard|Forum Post
Today's Hard|Forum Post

SSD / Storage Reviews

List Reviews by:
  1.   

    Fall 2015 Solid State Drive Technology Update

    By Chris Lonardo   November 02, 2015

    Since our last SSD update article, the last 7 months have seen no shortage of exciting announcements, and the enthusiast market has rapidly evolved in both positive and confusing ways. Let’s get up to speed on U.2, NVMe, 3D XPoint, M&A, and the rest of the buzzword soup that make up this market.

  2.   

    Making Old USB Better with New 3.1 and ASUS

    By Chris Lonardo   September 08, 2015

    Recent changes to the USB spec claim to provide a brighter future for those dependent on USB storage. We have all heard about just how great USB has become, or should have become. We test some of these advances to see if the new USB can deliver the goods when it comes to moving data.

  3.   

    SanDisk Ultra II SATA III SSD Review

    By Chris Lonardo   August 18, 2015

    Most of you know that the easiest way to get a performance boost from your old mechanical hard drive is to get rid of it and replace it with a shiny new SSD. SanDisk's Ultra II offers a lot of capacity for the money and comes with a 3 year warranty. Is that enough to compete in a market where prices are falling across every category?

  4.   

    OCZ Trion 100 Series Entry Level SSD Review

    By Chris Lonardo   July 09, 2015

    OCZ's new Trion 100 SSD is its first with TLC NAND and a Toshiba-designed controller. OCZ is positioning this new Trion series SSD as an entry level product for first time SSD buyers migrating from a spinning data drive. Does this budget SSD have what it takes to finally get average users off of magnetic storage?

  5.   

    Hail SATA: Performance SATA Solid State Drive Roundup

    By Chris Lonardo   July 07, 2015

    Despite the performance benefits, PCIe SSDs remain an expensive niche market. That means that most of us are not going to be loading up a high end system with PCIe SSDs. Most of us mere mortals will be using SATA SSDs. We tested some of the best SATA drives with enthusiast-friendly price tags.

  6.   

    House of Cards: PCIe SSD Performance Roundup

    By Chris Lonardo   June 23, 2015

    The new NVMe SSDs are now the de facto standard performance kings when it comes to accessing data on a desktop PC. However, there are more than a few other alternatives when it comes to PCIe attached SSD storage solutions. We take a look at how the other current PCIe SSDs on the market fare against NVMe and the best performing SATA.

  7. [H]ard|OCP Gold Award  

    Intel SSD 750 Review: NVMe for the Desktop

    By Chris Lonardo   May 08, 2015

    Intel is set to be the catalyst for a long-awaited leap forward in storage technology with the new SSD 750 bringing NVMe storage to client PCs for the first time, and turning the high end SSD space upside-down. We are expecting blinding IOPs and we dig in to find out what it can mean to the hardware enthusiast.

  8.   

    Moving to Real World Benchmarks in SSD Reviews

    By Chris Lonardo   April 13, 2015

    Many of our readers embrace our "real world" approach with hardware reviews. We have not published an SSD review for almost 2 years while we have been looking to revamp our SSD evaluation program. Today we wanted to give you some insight as to how we learned to stop worrying and love the real world SSD benchmark.

  9.   

    Where the SSD Market is Headed in 2015

    By Chris Lonardo   March 24, 2015

    Chris Lonardo is HardOCP's new Storage Engineer and Editor. HardOCP has been out of the SSD reviewing game for a couple of years looking for the right person to take the reins and Chris is our man. Today in his inaugural editorial, he shares with us what his thoughts are about in the SSD arena.

  10.   

    Toshiba THNSNH 256GB SSD Review

    By Hugh Briggs   July 03, 2013

    Toshiba's massive foundry capabilities allow it to develop some of the leading SSDs for the OEM market. These SSDs come pre-installed in the latest computers with the option for an SSD, and today we look at the Toshiba THNSNH in comparison to current top-flight enthusiast-class SSDs.

  11.   

    OCZ Vertex 450 256GB 20nm MLC SSD Review

    By Hugh Briggs   June 27, 2013

    OCZ refreshes the venerable Vertex 450 line of SSDs with its Indilinx Barefoot 3 controller and 20nm Micron MLC NAND. The new Barefoot 3 BF3-M10 controller is the same controller featured on the flagship OCZ Vector, yet with a slower clock speed. Will this slower controller allow OCZ to gain a foothold in the value market?

  12.   

    Corsair Neutron GTX 19nm 240GB SSD Review

    By Hugh Briggs   June 18, 2013

    Corsair moves to a smaller 19nm Toshiba Toggle MLC NAND with its LAMD-controlled Neutron GTX Series of SSDs. This shrink comes amongst stiff competition from other manufacturers, and a new SSD that is very similar to the Neutron GTX. Today we see how the new GTX stacks up against its increased competition.